Death Dreams

Ever have death dreams?  It’s been over a year since I had this type of nightmare.  I used to see killers in my dreams or watch myself die several nights a week.  Some dream interpreters said:

To see a killer in your dream, suggests that an essential aspect of your emotions have been cut off. You feel that you are losing your identity and your individuality. Alternatively, this dream may represent purification and the healing process. You are standing up for yourself and putting a dramatic end to something.

To dream that you have been killed, suggests that your actions are disconnected from your emotions and conscience. The dream refers to drastic changes that you are trying to make. There is a characteristic that you want to get rid of or a habit that you want to end within yourself. Killing represents the killing off of the old parts and old habits. Alternatively, the dream represents feelings of being let down or betrayed by someone in your waking life. You are feeling overwhelmed, shocked and disappointed.

These were all very symbolic of what I was feeling at that time because I was struggling with making some really major decisions.   I was also in need of some very deep emotional and physical healing.   It all made sense.  Sure enough those dreams died off as I got my stuff together.

Right now, I *thought* I had my stuff together… until I woke up all sweaty and exhausted this morning because I had a death dream.  I didn’t think anything of it because I’ve just been hearing about death this past month.  I go thru my day and teach my 3 classes.  No big deal… I even forgot about it after that first class.  Obviously it’s made it’s way into my mind again as I get ready for bed.  Why am I thinking about this again?

In my dream, I was watching myself die.  My dying self was trying to reach out to my watching self for help.  I couldn’t help.  I tried but as I reached out there was a force that prevented me.  When I woke up, my biceps were so sore as if I did too many bicep curls.

Another interpretation:

The message may be that your old self needs to be left behind. This may mean that you must stop carrying around with you the crippling burden of your past {irrational guilt-feelings and martyrdom complex, or any other negative self-programming}; and, instead, you must open yourself to what the present moment is offering. Alternatively, the ‘old self’ may be old attachments, habits, ambitions, values, goals; in which case the dream is telling you that the only way forward for you lies through giving these up and looking deeper within yourself for better values, etc. {where ‘better’ means more in tune with your real self}.

Hmmmm.. opening myself up to what the present moment is offering.  I’m exploring this.  There are some things that I’m unsure of right now (remember when I was brewing up some stuff?  It’s happening again.. part 2).   No doubt, I could sure give up some things, old attachments, self judgements, the crippling past (dag-nab-it! didn’t I already let go of the past?!).

I think we could all take a bite of that last interpretation to some degree.

In some twisted way, I hope I have this same dream again…

3 thoughts on “Death Dreams

  1. it sounds like you’re on the right track + so important that you are listening to your dreams. i have incredibly vivid dreams every night — it’s often exhausting, but i’ve known since i was little to pay attention to what they (which is really “I”) are telling me.

  2. Thank you for sharing this post. I’ve been dreaming about death for a long time. Often, there’s a plane crash. I’m often flying in my dreams and many times to outer space.
    A couple of times I’ve been pursued or someone is trying to kill me, although I never actually see myself die. I’ve been intrigued with the afterlife since I was like 9 yrs old. What else do I need to let go of???!!!! Hmmmmm!!!

  3. wow, and i like that, from a range of possibilities, you’re choosing to take a “bite of that last interpretation to some degree.”

    and if you get your twisted wish, ring (twist) the heck out of it ;-)

    will miss seeing your posts after tomorrow (mini death of connections for me ;-) as i’ll be starting my immersion with lex gillan in houston; best of luck and care nikki

Leave a Reply

