When I Grow Up

The other day, my 7 year old talks to me about how much her friend wants to be a veteranian when she grows up.  Her friend talks about how she can’t wait to grow up and take care of kitty cats.  So naturally I asked Jasmine what she wanted to be when she grew up.  Last year her answer to this question was “a yoga teacher” hehehe and I didn’t pay her to say that :)  Then she wanted to be an artist and an author.  This time her answer was, “I don’t know.  I don’t think I want to be anything but a kid.  Being an adult doesn’t seem like much fun.  You guys work too much.  Mom, can I just be a kid and get paid?”

“Sure!” I said.  “Sweetie, never forget this.  Find something you love to do.  Do it the best you can and get paid for it.”  I wish I learned that when I was 7 years old.  One of my favorite authors, Deepak Chopra, told his children this.  How often do we ask our kids what they want to be when they grow up?  And how often do we persaude them to pursue a job that will make them lots of money.  Jasmine goes on to say, “How come some people work too much?  Do they get a lot of money?”  “Probally,” I say.  “When do they get to play?” she says.  “Probably not that often,” I say.  “Hmmm then why do they need all that money?” she says.  I tell her once again, that just because someone makes a lot of money, doesn’t mean they are happy doing what they’re doing.  “OK.  Then I just want to be a kid cause I have lots of fun,” she says ending our conversation.

Why can’t you choose to change your mind like a child does?  Perhaps you’ve choosen a path way back when and now come to find that you’re not having fun.  Ok so mortgages, bills, responsibilities, yadah yadah ya… these will always be there so is that inner childlike voice within you.  So maybe quiting your day job is not realistic, but what shifts can you make to let your inner kid out again?

So one week into my running and I find myself today running in the rain.  It was the most fun I’ve had in such a long time.  The last time I ran in the rain was probably when I was 7 or something.  The run started out with the sun peeking out and 15 minutes into the run, it pours for about 5 minutes.  Nowhere to duck under so I keep going.  I was already wet from sweating anyway.  For a second I could hear my mom in my head telling me to come inside or I’ll catch a cold.  I remember this voice in my head as I picked up my boy from school and refrain from yelling at him to “don’t jump in that puddle.” Instead we both jumped in.  What fun!

Ok if jumping in the puddle and running in the rain is not your thing, how about these to bring out your inner kid:

1.  the next time you have to make a choice, use eenie meenie mynee mo

2. have a water balloon fight (try it in the rain)

3. make your next accomplishment one that was achieved from a double-dare

4. declare a “do-over” the next time you make a mistake

5. being old was anyone with two digits in their age (meaning 10 and over)

6. tell a really silly knock knock joke (Knock Knock. Who’s there.  Dishwasher.  Dishwasher who?  Isn’t dishwasher the funniest joke ever? LOL)

7. eat ice cream and count it as meeting one of your food groups for the day

8. tell your mom that you love her randomly throughout the day even if you are doing #2 in the bathroom

9. next time you have an ouchie, ask someone to kiss it and make it better

10. And finally promise yourself to repeat these and bring back those times when you can make a promise and “cross your heart and hope to die.”

The kid in you is in there, no matter what your profession or job description tells you otherwise!

2 thoughts on “When I Grow Up

Leave a Reply

